top of page

Latest News

Search
  • Writer's picture

ISP Youth Summer Camp tests teens mentally and physically

Updated: Jun 25, 2018



SPRINGFIELD, IL. (WRSP) — Violent crimes in Sangamon County are expected to spike during the Summer. The Illinois State Police started their tough, yet enriching Youth Summer Camp, to show teens how they can play a vital role in deterring crime.

It's no ordinary program. The 5-day camp in Springfield is a physical and mental program for young heroes in the making.


"We put them under stressful situations,” ISP Special Agent, Jarran Riley, said. “Just to see what they will react and respond to."

Teens from across Illinois chose to face challenges head on including 16-year-old Nolan Lindroth.

"It helps me really understand,” Lindroth said. “What it means to be a part of the armed services."


The Plainfield village teen went through fierce cadet training Sunday.

“This is a great opportunity,” Lindroth said. “For me to experience a military lifestyle to really get exposed to that."

16-year-old Kelly Montoia said she sees a lot of crime in her area of Waukegan, which is just north of Chicago.


"I have a younger sibling and it's just scary,” Montoia said.

Montoia wants to gain knowledge and confidence to be an FBI agent when she grows up.

“I want to do as much as possible as to keep my family safe,” Montoia said. “Not even just my family but others, because I know the same things that worry me worry others too."

Training officers said the camp is a trial of mind and body.


"It's like a hybrid of different types of kids,” Special Agent Riley said. “And different types of personal situations who come to this camp."

Lindroth wants to either be a police officer or an astronaut.


"It's what I want to do in my life, and it's where I want to go,” he said. “I 100 percent think [officers] are brave, courageous, determined in every way possible... I could think of no better profession than protecting the innocent and ensuring that it never happens."

The camp goes on for another four days and highlights team building and physical training. The cadets will get honored and have a graduation ceremony June 29. 2018.

2 views0 comments

We Need Your Support Today!

bottom of page